she of 108 names

Shiney Love in Sunny Seattle

19 Comments

My little family and I are now home in Chiang Mai, revelling in travel memories and secretly wishing that we were still on our trip in the USA. We had a wonderful time.

Whilst traipsing around San Francisco and Seattle I received a Readers Appreciation Award from the lovely Learning to Shine who shares her life from the green isle of Scotland. Thank you Shiney lady, this made me truly cheery. In accepting my nomination I need to share seven facts about myself and choose my own nominees …

Seven facts about myself:
1/ I’m Australian, living in Chiang Mai for the past nine years
2/ I’m in my 33rd year of life
3/ My heart is with Nature
4/ I’m creative
5/ I’m afraid of the dark
6/ I’m sensitive
7/ I long for a deeper understanding of myself and the universe

Seven nominees who’ve inspired me lately (and who I’m quite sure have recieved this award as they are awesome!):
1/ Girl Unwinding - meditative mandalas, words and art
2/ cityhippyfarmgirl - eco-mama, baker and crafter extraordinaire
3/ Lrtn - gorgeous photography and travel tales
4/ Lottie Nevin - life in Indonesia, telling it like it is with humour
5/ Want Beautiful – blissful photography
6/ Colleen Leondardi - thoughtful words from the heart
7/ Zen Habits – downshifting ideas to live by

And from my recent trip, seven notes of love on Seattle:
1/ Colourful Pike Place Market by the bay
2/ Afternoons in the Seattle Center park … the sunlight was beautiful – we were blessed with unusually warm, clear days
3/ Tattooed Seattlites
4/ Our dinky room at the the Inn at Queen Ann … cosy and spotless, with old gas heater pipes and stucco ceiling – at $80 a night you can’t go wrong!
5/ 360 degree views from the Seattle Space Needle
6/ The diner we frequented for breakfast … Americans do pancakes and French toast so deliciously well!
7/ Public art sculptures, seemingly on every corner

Farewell San Francisco ... bags packed, ready our for next adventure in Seattle

Farewell San Francisco … bags packed, ready our for next adventure in Seattle

Space Needle

Space Needle

View of Seattle from the Space Needle

View of Seattle from the Space Needle

Playing in the park

Playing in the park

Poetry stone sculptures in the park - love these

Poetry stone sculptures in the park – love these

Mecca Cafe

Mecca Cafe

Awesome French toast at Mecca Cafe

Awesome French toast at Mecca Cafe

Cute penguins at the Woodland Park Zoo

Cute penguins at the Woodland Park Zoo

Browsing music at Easy Street Records

Browsing music at Easy Street Records

Creative screen printed posters

Creative screen printed posters

Breakfast heaven: The Crumpet Shop

Breakfast heaven: The Crumpet Shop

Fresh lemon curd and ricotta crumpets at The Crumpet Shop

Fresh lemon curd and ricotta crumpets at The Crumpet Shop

Stopping for an obligatory cup of coffee at Starbucks

Stopping for an obligatory cup of coffee at Starbucks

Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

Delightful dahlia's at Pike Place Market

Delightful dahlia’s at Pike Place Market

Fantastic fungi at Pike Place Market

Fantastic fungi at Pike Place Market

Buying books at the Lion Heart Book Store, tucked away in the bowels of Pike Place Market

Buying books at the Lion Heart Book Store, tucked away in the bowels of Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

Taking in the bay, early morning

Taking in the bay, early morning

Enjoying the afternoon sunlight

Enjoying the afternoon sunlight

19 thoughts on “Shiney Love in Sunny Seattle

  1. Fantastic photos Marissa, really fabulous and it looks and sounds like you had a wonderful time in San Francisco and Seattle.

    I’ve got the biggest grin on my face and feel very honoured and flattered that you should mention me, thank you! WOW! :) xo

  2. Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous pics! Congrats on your nomination and welcome back!

  3. M how sweet is your little guy behind the leaf. That picture just ‘panged’ my heart. (You’re a mama, you know what I mean.) Too sweet! I love the last picture with the light as well- gorgeous.

    Thank you for the lovely nomination, that’s really, really kind of you. Like Lottie said, I’m very flattered as well. Also looking forward to checking out some of your other nominees.

    (ps. I hate the dark too. Frequently freak myself out and have to go running back inside, with a swift slam of the back door after hanging washing out at night…sigh.)

    • I love that shot of little Rainbow Eyes. He really was in his element with the room he had to run around and explore in those parks … we were all loving the open spaces.

      I couldn’t not mention you – your blog was one of the first I actively read way back when I didn’t have a blog. You always inspire B.

      Ps – nice to know I’m not the only one!

  4. I missed your Seattle visit! That’s my hometown:) I hope that you had a lovely time here and that Seattle treated you well. Seeing the images and words through your eyes makes me appreciate my city even more. Thank you for sharing!

    • You have an awesome hometown! I really loved Seattle – there was a ‘down-to-earthiness’ about it (well compared to San Francisco anyway) … and the people are really friendly. We went to the Pacific Science Centre almost everyday … my two year old loved the dinosaur exhibit. Now that we’re back home he keeps asking to go back there :)

  5. Thank you so much for the mention. I am always intrigued to see how others interpret my blog. I like your description very much.
    I really enjoyed viewing your photos here and on Flickr of your trip to the states. So glad you had a great time.
    I’m excited to check out the other blogs that you listed. Always a joy to discover new and talented Internet friends.
    Peace~

  6. looks like you had a blast, and fitted in lots of sights and tastes.

  7. Congratulations on your nomination, M! Woot woot!! And I love, love, love the photo of Rainbow Eyes with that leaf. So fun. Thank you for your kind words about my blog, too. That means a lot to me. xx C

    • Woot woot right back atcha! Thanks lovely C! That was our first day in Seattle, we ran about in the park, chasing seagulls, gathering leaves and bathing in afternoon sunlight. Magical.

      xx

  8. such beautiful colours and art in these images! looks like you had such a wonderful time!

  9. Marissa — I’m late to the party… been away for a few weeks (not literally, just from blogging), and I sort of knew that I’d see something wonderful from you when I come back ! I’ve said this before, but you really have a lovely way of viewing the world through your camera. Love both shots of Rainbow Eyes btw. Definitely not the “typical” Seattle shots… well, not that I’ve ever been there, even though it’s only an hour flight away, I’ve always wanted to go, and I know people there, but that’s besides the point.
    Thank you for nominating me. I’m very flattered, though I probably won’t “accept” and share facts etc in a post. Just to keep the mystery going and all :) No, I’m only kidding. I hope you’re settling back home nicely. Look forward to the next installment of whatever that catches your fancy. Lauren

  10. Looks like an amazing trip. Love the unique way you photographed the city. Thanks for sharing :)

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers