she of 108 names

Loving this week … San Francisco

28 Comments

This post is inspired by cityhippyfarmgirl’s inspiring post ‘Loving this week’.

After more than 30 hours in transit from Chiang Mai, with stopovers in Bangkok and Seoul, head shakes and the occasional ‘stink-eye’ from fellow passengers when the little one had a meltdown, lack of sleep, gross food, and a delay with our connection in Los Angeles … we arrived in San Francisco relieved, happy and excited to finally be in this stunning city.

Notes of love on San Francisco …

/ Our cosy little apartment in Richmond district … restaurants, an organic grocer and excellent public transport – yeah!
/ Amazing Asian and Western vegetarian food … with the array of tantalising places to eat out at, the idea of cooking in our apartment flew out the window.
/ Catching up with lovely friends.
/ Cool, fresh and invigorating weather … loving the breeze coming off the bay.
/ The Academy of Sciences at Golden Gate Park – great for the entire family.
/ The Sutro Baths overlooking the mighty Pacific, down at Land’s End.
/ Pedestrian-friendly streets with enormous wide footpaths and cars that actually stop when you’re trying to cross the road (unlike in Thailand).
/ Great conversations with friendly local folks.
/ Being able to drink water directly from the tap.
/ Twilight (as in the time of day, not the film series).
/ Cable car ride from Powell and Market Streets to Pier 39.
/ Lush green parks … in seemingly endless supply.
/ The fog that envelopes the city at unexpected moments
/ A fantastic city!

The sun rising on the horizon, approaching the USA

The sun rising on the horizon, approaching the USA

Our neighbourhood in Richmond

Our neighbourhood in Richmond

I love this sign

I love this sign

Old school shop fronts

Old school shop fronts

Browsing at the wonderful Fields Book Store

Browsing at the wonderful Fields Book Store

Fun cable car ride

Fun cable car ride

Watching the sea lions at Pier 39

Watching the sea lions at Pier 39

Enjoying windy Pier 39

Enjoying windy Pier 39

View of the Sutro Baths

View of the Sutro Baths

Trees by the ocean

Trees by the ocean

Picking flowers, Sutro Baths

Picking flowers, Sutro Baths

The three of us at the Sutro Baths

The three of us at the Sutro Baths

Exploring by the Sutro Baths

Exploring by the Sutro Baths

Exploring by the Sutro Baths

Exploring by the Sutro Baths

Playing in the sand at the beach by the Sutro Baths

Playing in the sand at the beach by the Sutro Baths

Iced coffee, Vietnamese drip style!

Iced coffee, Vietnamese drip style!

Devouring delicious pho soup

Devouring delicious pho soup

The Sword & Rose mystical shop in the Haight area

The Sword & Rose mystical shop in the Haight area

The Sword & Rose mystical shop in the Haight area

The Sword & Rose mystical shop in the Haight area

Gingko leaves at the Japanese Tea Garden

Gingko leaves at the Japanese Tea Garden

Buddha at the Japanese Tea Garden

Buddha at the Japanese Tea Garden

28 thoughts on “Loving this week … San Francisco

  1. I love these photos! I like the “grumpy” sign as well, and the picture of the sandy hands is my favorite! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Gorgeous photos! I love San Francisco too….love the sandy hands.

  3. Wonderful voyage around San Francisco. I’ve never been there but you’ve made wish that I had:)

  4. Gorgeous M! I haven’t been there but like F,P&F you’ve made me wish I had.
    Actually you’ve made me want to go dust off my passport… imagine the lovely ‘stink eyes’ I would get with all three in tow!…actually I can well imagine unfortunately, I guess that’s why the passport remains dusty. (So when are coming to Australia? :-)

    ps.thanks for the link back too lovely

    • Oh thanks B! This is my second visit to SF … it’s a great city, so much character, and kiddy friendly. I love that you can find amazing patches of nature in such vast urban-ness. Thinking about flying with three little monkeys makes me a tad anxious :) I try to ignore the ‘stink eyes’, though it does get to me a little bit … some people forget they were kids once …
      No plans for a visit back home to Australia yet … but who knows!
      Hope life is treating you well x

  5. Very nice photographs; really natural . I liked all in-fact; keep your journey on and keep sharing.

  6. oooooooooohhhh! drinking water out of the tap! that has got to be my favourite! Love your photos and happy that you are happy having a glorious time :)

    • Hi Lottie! Drinking water from the tap was so strangely satisfying – one of those little things that are usually taken for granted. I actually called the landlady to ask if the tap water was potable (yeh, I’ve been living in Asia for too long!) … she laughed :) Marissa x

  7. I love SF! And I love your photos of your visit. What a beautiful place it is. I can’t believe you’re there now. My brother just opened a show there of his paintings! Check them out here: http://www.altmansiegel.com/main.php?menu=current&page=pics. Enjoy SF! xo

    • Hi Colleen! Thanks! Yes, gosh it really is a beautiful city – love its charm and diversity. And, wow, your brother is truly talented – I see creativity runs in your family. I really love ‘The Source is the Goal’ and ‘Towards Dark’ … beautiful and inspiring … equal to the words you write on your blog. I hope you are well x

  8. So beautiful! Thanks for the inspiration…AGAIN! :)

  9. Wow… welcome (or welcome back) to the West Coast ! Hope you have a wonderful time in this city.

  10. Well, you’ve been busy! I’ve never been to the west coast. Arizona is the farthest west in the U.S that I have been ( my birth place, actually ). Sounds like the family and you really enjoyed your visit. Though you were far from your home, the similarities in your photos abound!
    ~Dawn

  11. Pingback: loving this week « Cityhippyfarmgirl

  12. i grew up near san francisco and relocated to the pacific northwest, and every time i return i feel more jangly and disconnected, like the city moves too fast for me. these photos remind me that there are corners of calm and loveliness. thank you!

    • Hi Nichole, I can relate …coming from dinky little Chiang Mai, San Francisco is really, really fast! Though I do love that in such a huge city you can access little pieces of nature for some respite. Love visiting, but living there would be a whole different experience :) Your blog is beautiful.

  13. Pingback: Shiney Love in Sunny Seattle « she of 108 names

  14. After living in San Francisco for 7 years, it’s always a nice place to visit, but I agree with you that I’d much rather live in Chiang Mai. Thanks for the photos.

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers