she of 108 names

August Break Week iv: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

17 Comments

This month I am participating in The August Break 2012, run by the lovely Susannah Conway. At the end of each week of August I will share seven snaps of life and seven slices of mind.

1 / The three of us feeling under the weather and out of sorts this past week: tired, grumpy, no energy … but there were little pockets of goodness here and there.
2 / Enjoyed a midday nap and cuddle with my little Rainbow Eyes. Naps are so under-rated. I say yes to the napping culture!
3 / Sense of lightness after shamanic healing session (thank you Melanie).
4 / I got an hour to myself to enjoy a tok sen massage within the beautiful grounds of Wat Mahawan. This is one of my favourite types of massage (and one of my favourite locations for a massage too) – quite energising and less intense than the usual Thai massage. Dr. Sompong is the master masseur (and owner), so be sure to ask for him.

“Tok sen massage is an ancient northern Thai practice that involves the use of a special wooden hammer, made from the bark of the tamarind tree, to relax muscles in a rhythmically tapping motion, ‘tok sen’.

Tok means to hammer or hit and sen refers to the pathways in the body. Tok sen therapy helps with physical aches and pains, energy blockages, pure circulation, nerve problems etc .”

5 / Lulled by the nighttime sounds of croaking frogs and watery critters that come with the rainy season. I’m sure this is a common sound out in the boonies, but in our rather urban dwelling it is a welcome and grounding sound.
6 / & 7 / – I’ve run out of steam at five slices of mind … b’sheesh – it truly has been one of those weeks! Ah well.

Sweet, fresh coconut juice at the markets – the best!

Sweet, fresh coconut juice at the markets – the best!

I’ve had these shoes for over ten years, they’ve been all over the world with me – so comfy, I never undo the shoelaces. These days they’re mainly retired and only slipped on for the gym. I’m sad to say that they are coming to the end of their days, tears

I’ve had these shoes for over ten years, they’ve been all over the world with me – so comfy, I never undo the shoelaces. These days they’re mainly retired and only slipped on for the gym. I’m sad to say that they are coming to the end of their days, tears may be shed … I’m not sure I will be able to find another pair of shoes that will live up to these. Gulp!

Me getting a tok sen massage … and no, it’s not painful getting a wooden stake hammered onto your body!

Me getting a tok sen massage … and no, it’s not painful getting a wooden stake hammered onto your body!

There is another photo of the massage place here. If you take a peak down that right-side passage way you will find a beautiful, large Buddha housed inside.

The Burmese chedi at Wat Mahawan got a fresh lick of white paint so it looked stunning.
The Burmese chedi at Wat Mahawan got a fresh lick of white paint so it looked stunning.
A plant forming a natural mandala in an unassuming little pond by a busy roadside … how perfect is Nature?

A plant forming a natural mandala in an unassuming little pond by a busy roadside … how perfect is Nature?

"Don't worry about a thing, 'Cause every little thing gonna be all right.” (Feel free to start singing and/or head for the kitchen ‘herb cabinet’).

“Don’t worry about a thing, ‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.” (Feel free to start singing and/or head for the kitchen ‘herb cabinet’).

Finding a moment of peace: watching the breeze in the trees, Wat Suan Dok

Finding a moment of peace: watching the breeze in the trees, Wat Suan Dok

17 thoughts on “August Break Week iv: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

  1. LOVE it! Now I have a new massage place to check out too :) Here’s to a better week! Hugs and bugs…

  2. I can imagine the sound as well as the vibration feeling good in the body in your tok sen massage session. It’s important to get those meridians humming. Although if I were to walk in caring a hammer and a wooden stake, I am sure my clients would be a bit unnerved (although they trust me so they may be up for it, hahaha).
    As usual your photos transport me to another world that I am grateful to be sharing through you! and your plant mandala sighting made me smile.
    I hope you get to feeling “right as rain” soon (although I have no idea what that term actually means, but I say it with the best of intension)
    Peace

    • Yes, the sound and the vibration is quite soothing … you do actual feel like your bodily energy is vibrating afterwards. So Dawn, I gather you do massage for a living?

      I actually thought of you when I was looking at that plant mandala :)

      Thanks Dawn, I always appreciate your thoughtful comments … I’m getting there, slowly, slowly.

      x

      • I am a massage therapist and a Reiki master and a sound therapist ( I use crystal singing bowls ). I love it, very rewarding work. I have been practicing for 7 years. I would love to learn Thai massage but want to take it from a master and not some ceu class here in the States. :-)

  3. Thank you for sharing, your photos are wonderful. I absolutely love that plant mandala! And I am with you on napping culture, sometimes only a nap will do! I hope that things get a little easier – wishing you much peace. ~Lisa

    • Thanks Lisa, nice to know a fellow pro-napper in the blogosphere :) Isn’t that plant amazing. I might go back and try to take one home with me … I could gaze at it for a long, long time. x

  4. Oh that kind of massage is exactly what I need. A good hammering!…(No wait that doesnt sound right.)
    Now I guess Thailand is a long way to go for a massage, too far?

    I say yes to the napping culture too, I’d be a much nicer person if I could regularly get in a little siesta. Warm cuddles to go with it are always welcome as well.

    Condolences for your shoes and I hope you three are feel a whole lot better now.

    Love these posts.

  5. fresh coconut juice, oh i missed the so much!
    great set of photos :)

  6. Hi Marissa — love your images, always so peaceful and yet also filled with a sense of frolic. Especially love the plant image and the angle. Thanks for stopping by, as always. More than you need to know, but life has been so crazy with other … stuff that I haven’t looked at any blogs in weeks (when I do, I want to spend time rather than just clicking through). Keep telling myself I need to post, but the pics just sit there. Oh well, that’s life. Enjoy your summer, and “see” you soon. Lauren

  7. PS–cute shoes and socks :)

  8. What a beautiful space! Brydie from City Hippy Farm Girl just directed me your way and it is so nice to find you here. Just beautiful.

  9. HI – I’ve nominated you for a readers appreciation award – hope that’s OK :o)

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers