she of 108 names

August Break Week iii: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

10 Comments

This month I am participating in The August Break 2012, run by the lovely Susannah Conway. At the end of each week of August I will share seven snaps of life and seven slices of mind.

While my home isn’t the sun-filled, open-plan, surrounded-by-nature space that I’d love to inhabit, I’m grateful to have a place to call home, and to have a decent roof over my head:

1 / ‘Home’ (however that is defined) is in Chiang Mai, Thailand – something I dreamt of once, now a reality.
2 / Home is located close enough to everything that we don’t need a car, and we can bicycle or motorcycle to most places.
3 / Our landlords (of nine years) never bother us.
4 / We can decorate and renovate without having to get permission.
5 / Home is large enough to live in and work from (with a home office / creative space for two, and storage space for our book publications).
6 / Rent is reasonable, which also means we also aren’t in debt with a mortgage.
7 / I love the books, trinkets and artwork that fill our home.

“Every one of us needs a home. The world needs a home. There are so many young people who are homeless. They may have a building to live in, but they are homeless in their hearts. That is why the most important practice of our time is to give each person a home.”

~ Thich Nhat Hanh ~

Books and trinkets

Books and trinkets

Home

Mary-like Kuan Yin from Bali

Bedroom duchess

Bedroom duchess

Magus' desk ... always editing a manuscript

Magus’ desk … always editing a manuscript

Rainbow Eyes surrounded by books, he is naturally a book lover ...

Rainbow Eyes surrounded by books, he is naturally a book lover …

Living room

Living room

Fridge door with collection of magnets from world travels, postcards from friends and photos

Fridge door with collection of magnets from travels, postcards from friends and photos

10 thoughts on “August Break Week iii: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

  1. Your home is lovely! Thank you for the show and tell.

  2. Home is where the heart is and your home is indeed infused with all of your families special hearts. I am a big lover of Kuan Yin. She resides in my workspace and in my home, as well. So tell me, without being to nosey she says, what is it that you do? that affords you to live in the exotic location of your dreams?
    ( I am loving your August Break )

    • ‘Home is where the heart is’ – indeed! I love that you love Kuan Yin too … she’s a beautiful divine, feminine force … mother of all mothers. She has a presence in all rooms of our house. Dawn, I do a few things … I shall send you an email :)

  3. You are such an inspiration. Makes me want to write about what Home means!

  4. Excuse me a moment while I just have a better look at your book shelf, question you on your travel magnets and also quietly pocket your bedroom duchess while your back is turned- she’s so very beautiful. Oh but where are my manners? I brought cake!?

    How awesome does your place look! Love it. We’ve got a collection of magnets of places as well, not quite as exciting as yours though. I wish our landlord was a bit more accommodating. Our walls are no where near as exciting as I’d like.

    • Aww, thanks B! Your homemade cake is most welcome! Collecting magnets is awesome and they are also a good talking point in the kitchen with guests :) If I had spare cash I would renovate our bathroom – it’s Asian style, wet floors and, well, ugly! Oh, how I’d love the comforts of a Western style bathroom!

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers