she of 108 names

August Break Week ii: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

10 Comments

This month I am participating in The August Break 2012, run by the lovely Susannah Conway. At the end of each week of August I will share seven snaps of life and seven slices of mind.

1 / Envigourated by the first online workshop on ‘Introduction to Tarot by Lon Milo DuQuette (Lesson 1: The Major Arcana)’ … mind you, I needed the envigourating effects of very strong coffee for the 2 a.m. (Thailand time) start!
2 / Satisfied (and weirdly relieved) folding away the clean clothes that were piled up in baskets for more than three weeks …  oh the little things.
3 / Excited to see our new book publication, The Hermes Paradigm, Book Two: The First Work, off to print.
4 / Completing the ‘generosity circle’ with our neighbour who graciously let us shower at her house for many nights when we had no water supply to our house (water pump and tank problems).
5 / Admiring the determination of my teacher and friend in following his true path in tai chi chu’an by imminetly journeying to Wudang Mountain, China with a group of senior sifus.
6 / Resonating with the Wheel of Dharma and Wheel of Life symbolism - now that I am more aware of the symbol I am seeing it everywhere … temples, decorative temple walls and even photocopying shops!
7 / Dancing and singing (albeit in quite a crazy fashion) with Magus to the tunes of Bowie in order to cheer up Rainbow Eyes and lift him from one of his tantrums (and I say ‘one’ as there are many tantrums per day, apparently ‘normal’ for a two year old).

“Everything in heaven and earth is connected to everything in heaven and earth.

Everything in heaven and earth is the reflection of everything in heaven and earth.

Everything in heaven and earth contains the pattern of everything in heaven and earth.

Look hard enough at anything and you will eventually see eveything.”

~ Rabbi Lamed Ben Clifford ~

Finding divine shelter from the rain at Wat Chedi Luang

Finding (divine) shelter from the rain at Wat Chedi Luang

Delicious fare at Mingkwan Vegetarian Food (Ratchadamnoen Road, near Wat Phra Singh) ... the deep fried wontons are addictive!

Delicious fare at Mingkwan Vegetarian Food (Ratchadamnoen Road, near Wat Phra Singh) … the deep fried wontons are addictive!

Not just for the oldies: the joy of feeding pidgeons at Suan Buak Hat

Not just for the oldies: the joy of feeding pidgeons at Suan Buak Hat

Typical street scene in Chiang Mai: the chaos somehow works, and there is always a peaceful temple hidden amongst it

Typical street scene in Chiang Mai: the chaos somehow works, and there is always a peaceful temple hidden amongst it

Exploring rice paddies near our house

Exploring rice paddies near our home

Visiting our artist friend Jirawong at his In Clay Studio Pottery

Visiting our artist friend Jirawong at his In Clay Studio Pottery

Rainbow Eyes and me riding in the back of a songthaew

Rainbow Eyes and me riding in the back of a songthaew

See previous week:
August Break Week i: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

10 thoughts on “August Break Week ii: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

  1. O my where to start?! you week sounded like a nice mix of routine and adventure with lots of things to celebrate dotted throughout. What a nice life you are creating for yourself and your little family! I love the pigeon shot, wow! and the vegetarian food plate looks sooo good (it is breakfast time here, after all).
    I am so glad you share your surroundings as they are quite different that what is around my neighborhood and I adore all the variety in this world!! Have a fantastic day!
    Peace~
    Dawn

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Dawn! I really enjoy sharing little snippets of life here, and it helps me appreciate and keep my eyes open to my surroundings too.
      The vegetarian place was a great find … and about 20 baht – not even $1 – for each plate. Ridiculously good in every sense.
      Hope you’re having a fantastic week too x

  2. I love your pictures! The pigeon one is amazing!

  3. I like that — “the chaos somehow works”! Looking forward to the next installment.

    • Hello L! Yes, the chaos – I know you would have experienced lots of that in Nepal and Hong Kong! And something that I’ve grown accustomed too … so much so that when I go to a nice, orderly Western country I almost miss it :)

  4. A beautiful post – I love reading your blog.

  5. It’s funny how dancing, singing and music in general can be so soothing. Whenever my monkeys are wearing their cranky pants, music is an easy lift.
    Beautiful pics.

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers