she of 108 names

August Break Week i: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

18 Comments

This month I am participating in The August Break 2012, run by the lovely Susannah Conway. At the end of each week of August I will share seven snaps of life and seven slices of mind.

1 / Enjoying misty mountain views of Doi Suthep, and stormy afternoons.
2 / Savouring long philosophical discussions with Magus on the spiritual nature and deeper meanings of life.
3 / Relieved that Mercury retrograde will be passing within a few days (I don’t think that I could endure any more unexpected obstacles!).
4 / Bopping to the beats of Boy and Bear.
5 / Enthusiastically enrolling in an online workshop, ‘Introduction to Tarot by Lon Milo DuQuette (Lesson 1: The Major Arcana)’ via the Thelesis Aura Online Academy.
6 / Delighting in bicycle adventures around town with little Rainbow Eyes.
7 / Re-watching the Matrix trilogy and enjoying the dialogue (rather than being bamboozled by the special effects):

Trinity: I know why you’re here, Neo. I know what you’ve been doing … why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer. You’re looking for him. I know because I was once looking for the same thing. And when he found me, he told me I wasn’t really looking for him. I was looking for an answer. It’s the question that drives us, Neo. It’s the question that brought you here. You know the question, just as I did.
Neo: What is the Matrix?
Trinity: The answer is out there, Neo, and it’s looking for you, and it will find you if you want it to.

~ The Matrix ~

Waking up to sunlight from our bedroom balcony

Waking up to sunlight from our bedroom balcony

Corn stalks and view Doi Suthep mountain at the weekly fruit and veg market

Corn stalks and view to Doi Suthep mountain from the weekly fruit and veg market

Beautiful Buddha hidden in a Wat

Beautiful Buddha hidden inside a wat

Lunch at the Pun Pun, Wat Suan Dok

Lunch at Pun Pun, Wat Suan Dok

Enjoying misty moutain views of Doi Suthep, and stormy afternoons

Enjoying misty moutain views of Doi Suthep, and stormy afternoons

An enormous elephant

An enormous, magnificent elephant

Rainbow Eyes looking for fish

Rainbow Eyes looking for fish at the Chiang Mai Zoo aquarium

18 thoughts on “August Break Week i: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind

  1. Love, Love, Love the photos and ditto the seven slices of mind. Looking forward to following your August! Lottie

  2. Hi Marissa :) I’m Ana Eugénio from Portugal and I’m doing the August Break with you too ;) hope you have an extraordinary week ahead. xxo

    • Hi Ana! Thanks for saying hello – so nice to meet some new people through the August Break. I will be keeping an eye out in the group pool for your photos. Have a wonderful week too! :) x

  3. Love your wonderful photography! The elephants eye and the light in the first photo are divine! and I simple adore the Matrix!! all three, as a matter of fact. And philosophical discussions are a rarity for me with my mate but I adore the chance with friends, my little sister and my oldest son!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Peace~
    Dawn

    • Thanks Dawn! The Matrix trilogy blew my mind the other week :) It’s good to have others around for deeper discussions, people like that are hard to find, I’m lucky with my Magus …

  4. Thank you for the inspiration and for introducing Susannah! I’m going to turn my Wordless Wednesdays into a Gratitude Pictorial!

    • Hi Lani! Aww, I’m glad this provided some inspiration :) Looking forward to your Wednesday Gratitude Pictorials! Hope you’re having a lovely weekend – how nice are the rainy days for a change?!

  5. I love, love, love those deeper conversations. They seem to happen far too infrequently.
    Beautiful photos Marissa (I’d love to do something like this.)

    • Thanks B, yes, they are wonderful and needed at times. Magus and I have been having many lately, I think I am going through a sort of ‘spiritual crisis’ at the moment and he is a wise person to talk to about such things :)

  6. Pingback: August Break Week ii: seven snaps of life, seven slices of mind « she of 108 names

  7. Pingback: Remembering to be grateful | Tell-Thai HeartTell-Thai Heart

  8. I always feel — aahh this is so nice every time I visit your blog, and it’s no different this time L

  9. Beautiful images and I love how you have set up for August Break! Wonderful info and photos! Thanks so much for stopping over on my blog! I so appreciate it!

  10. Pingback: Blog Archive (Lani Cox) : TEFL Bloggers

  11. Pingback: Remembering to be grateful | Life, the Universe and Lani

I love connecting with you, hellos and comments are most welcome

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers